Screaming Mee Mees

(On Topic: | Alan Tew | Boots For Dancing | Boy George | Cliff Richard | David Soul | Ennio Morricone | Geoff Love | George Michael | Gil Melle | Hugo Montenegro | Itai Itai | Jerry Goldsmith | Michael Caulfield | Paul Lekakis | Ray Davies | Screaming Mee Mees | Serge Gainsbourg | Syd Dale | Televisions Music Men | Tom Jones | Wendy Carlos | Index )

The Screaming Meemees were one of the biggest post-punk new-wave pop bands in New Zealand in the early 1980s. The band formed in Auckland in 1979, composed of vocalist Tony Drumm, guitarist Michael O'Neill, keyboard and bass player Peter van der Fluit and drummer "Laurence "Yoh" Landwer-Johan.

In 1981 the song "See Me Go" was released as a limited release 12" edition, and a 7". Despite being unavailable after the initial week of release, the song was briefly the number one single on the New Zealand charts. This accomplishment was achieved with little airplay outside of college radio. The single was the first New Zealand single to enter the charts at number one.